We’re in Amish Country!

It’s no secret I’m fascinated with the Amish. I guess because I’m such a minimalist that their simple life appeals to me. Hey! I could even draw a Soles4Souls logo on one of those Amish dresses and wear that when we do Soles4Souls events. After all, we’ve already downsized from a 2,500 square foot house to a 34 foot motorhome. For the last four days, we’ve been in Lancaster County because of Soles4Souls events. That means we’re around the Amish in the Post Office, at the grocery store and on the streets. We camped at a campground where the back of our RV was right at the edge of the street. To my delight, we had Amish driving by our RV in their horse drawn carriages all night. I laid in bed and was so close I could have “high-fived” every Amish driver. (If the Amish are into high-fiving! )The only problem is we keep stopping at these Amish fruit stands and bakeries. Right now I have six ears of corn, bread, red potatoes, peaches and a Shoo-Fly pie sitting on the counter because of our encounters with the Amish.

Even Sammy Sole likes the Amish!

Even Sammy Sole likes the Amish!

One of our favorite views

One of our favorite views

Leave a Reply

