Like Mother/Like Daughter: Amazing Counselors!

Sondra earns an extra $5.00 per week because she is a lifeguard, bringing her salary to $165 a week.

Sondra earns an extra $5.00 per week because she is a lifeguard, bringing her salary to $165 a week.

Moonbeam eats on the run while serving her campers.

Moonbeam eats on the run while serving her campers.

Sondra had this name tag especially made for my visit.

Sondra had this name tag especially made for my visit.

In the summers of 1972 and 1973 I was a “Tribal Leader” at Indian Village at Forest Home Christian Camp in Southern California. This head counselor position meant that I, (under my Indian name of Silver Moon) spent the summer enthusiastically leading young girls on hikes, skits, songs, games and yes, even underwater basket weaving. In all humility, I was an amazing counselor because I had finally found an outlet for my energy. However, last week I met my match…another Tribal Leader by the name of Moonbeam. I wasn’t so concerned about competition since Moonbeam is actually my daughter Sondra. What an incredible experience to see her use her leadership skills to guide and entertain young girls for the entire summer. As Allan and I spent two days with Sondra, opps! with Moonbeam, we also met several adult counselors who want us to come to Southern California and visit their churches with the RV. They are interested in organizing shoe drives to collect gently used shoes for Soles4Souls.

One Response to “Like Mother/Like Daughter: Amazing Counselors!”

  1. Lilly Says:

    Oops! Looks like Moonbeam isn’t watching the pool during her lifeguard duties! But in all seriousness, I truly support Christian camps and I have been working at one for several years now. Good job!

Leave a Reply

