Only Trained Stunt Experts Should Attempt This Feat

Allan and I are thrilled with our new bikes. From a practical side, we’ll be able to make quick trips to the store without using the RV. From a fun side, it’s just plain enjoyable to ride a bike. We’ve led a month long bike tour through Europe and pedaled the hills in Tuscany. We’ve even ridden our bikes through Harlem. Right now I’m trying to justify a trip to Holland, my all-time place for biking. In the meantime, today

Allan preparing our new bikes for the initial ride.

Allan preparing our new bikes for the initial ride.

Guess what happened next!

Guess what happened next!

Allan and I took a ten mile ride on rural roads outside of Madison Wisconsin. I’ve always prided myself on being able to ride short stretches without holding on to the handle bars. (Some people have goals to find a cure for cancer. I just want to pedal with my hands in the air.) Well, let’s just say that a new bike, a bumpy road and my old age didn’t create the perfect combination for hands-free bike riding. If you look at the picture, you’ll see the wheel just beginning to wobble. I’ll spare you the details of what happened next. I’m just glad Allan got the picture with my hands in the air.

Leave a Reply

